Stage 7 Preview

Leith Hill road from epicroadrides.com

We are entering into demanding final 3 weeks. No more sprinting fun, no more hiding behind the wheels until final meters, it’s time for the pain!

We are back in UK, this time in London for the Leith Hill After Party course.

There are only three weeks left in this autumn series and this the easiest of three. Actually it’s all about the last 5.2 km since opening 36 km is flat as roads in London downtown supposed to be. And most importantly, it has the sharp sting with strong poison right at the end of its tail.

As mentioned, the whole climb is 5.2 km long with a modest 5% average but the climb is all but even and gradual. It rises and levels until the last 1.5 km when climb kick’s up relentlessly with gradients between 7-12%. If the entire climb will take between 11-15 minutes depending on the ability of an individual, the last 2 km will demand between 5-7 minutes of an all-out climbing to the finish line. There is no theory any sprinter or fast men can survive this. But on the other side, the final climb is not long enough for pure climbers either. The final climb is actually best suited for light sneaky and smart punchy climbers who can accelerate during climb and kill any wheel sucking inertia overall and who can dig for few minutes extremely deep.

But despite the predictable finish scenario, the stage is far from closed and boring. It’s actually long enough for any strong non-climber to attack early and try to build enough of a gap to steal the stage. Because many will try to hide and conserve energy until the final climb as much as possible, it is quite possible for duo, trio or quartet of riders to break away and build a decent gap to the field before the climb. And even on opening 3km of a climb gap might be maintained since field always rides hard on steep ramps and eases off on flat parts.

All categories , , & will do the same distance of 41 km with 410 m of ascent. Expect around 1h minutes of racing for the fastest group and around 1h 25 minutes for the last finishers to cross the line.

There are two slots available and remember; you can do either one or both, your best result will count towards general points classification.

Click on the day that fits your schedule for a link to Zwift event signup page.

Saturday at 15.05 CET (3 PM CET) / 2 PM BST / 9 AM EDT / 6 AM PDT / 11 PM AEST / 2 AM NZDT
Sunday at 10.30 CET (10.30 AM CET) / 9.30 AM BST / 5.30 AM EDT / 1.30 AM PDT / 7.30 PM AEST / 9.30 PM NZDT

Here is the VeloViewer 3D map of the course.

Have you ridden the course before? The easiest way is to check the segment in your Strava account.

Strava Forward Segment

Prize draw from Week #6

Usually every Monday after weekend’s fit & fun Zwift festival one lucky winner gets randomly choosed for the week’s prize of professional bike fitting worth 200€ by VS Bike + 1h free trial on complete Wahoo Indoor Zwift Setup (Wahoo Kickr + Climb + Wind + Apple 4K TV). This time we had to run our prize draw a day later, due to Aleš’s illness.

And the Week #6 lucky winner is Tadej Sedar.

Congrats Tadej. For collecting the prize, please contact us at info [@] zwift.si

Just to refresh basic rules about eligibility for our weekly prize draw:

1.) every Slovenian rider with a valid stage result on Zwiftpower.com from the current week is eligible. Riders with SLO flag but without real name and surname (for example: some dude, Ave Cezar, Miha 5886, etc..) are excluded. Names like Miha Zvonec (Steel Bike lover) are OK.

2.) Organizers and past lucky winners are excluded from the weekly prize draw. There is no point in getting two bike fittings in a row, but they all remain eligible for the main prize (Wahoo Tickr Heart rate monitor) after 9 weeks of league.

Stage 6 Preview

Last chance for sprinters to gather points before we enter into demanding final 3 weeks.

The flattest of the flattest. Watopia’s Tick Tock course is designed for sprinters. They love it every meter around this 16km lap. There is not a single point of danger for them. They can suck wheels all day long and then finally explode, erupt like a volcano in the last kilometer.

Arguably this is one of the most boring courses. But, only if the bunch rides dull, unanimated, sleepy. If racing becomes aggressive, attacking, dynamic, it can turn out as one of the most exciting and demanding session on Zwift. All we need is a few strong allrounders and climbers willing to attack and split the bunch into a pieces. Make no mistake, waiting till the last kilometer on this course will inevitably end up with sprinters demolishing the field, there is no other option, no other outcome. The only way to fence off sprinters is to attack them early. And attacks need to be frequent, continuous, furious. These creatures behave like sheep during stage. They hide in the bunch, they suck the wheels of others religiously, they never ever stick their nose into the wind. If racing is hard, they suffer and hide even more. But once they can feel the finish line is coming, once they start smelling blood, they change. They drop their sheepskins, their elbows go wide, their eye pupils narrows, adrenalin and testosterone kicks through the roof. All the sudden they become ultimate predators, they become raging wolves!

So, if non-sprinters want to have some serious fun (and serious workout) they need to adopt a different strategy. They need to explode the field. The race with 50km distance is the longest in this 9 week long series. With average speeds expecting around 44-46kmh this means around 70min of racing. So there is plenty of time to tire legs, plenty of time to repeatedly attack the field. No way they will cover all the moves. Sooner or later a small group will break. But it’s necessary to start early. Don’t wait for the last lap because it might be too late. If this aggressive, attacking scenario occurs, then this kind of racing is exactly the type of racing that might hurt the most. Because of its unpredictability, it can be also one of the most exciting.

Let’s bring the weekend on.

Category & will do 3 laps, 50.4 km altogether with 132 m of ascent.
Category & will do 2 laps, 33.6 km altogether with 88 m of ascent.

There are two slots available and remember; you can do either one or both, your best result will count towards general points classification.

Click on the day that fits your schedule for a link to Zwift event signup page.

Saturday at 15.05 CET (3 PM CET) / 2 PM BST / 9 AM EDT / 6 AM PDT / 11 PM AEST / 2 AM NZDT
Sunday at 10.30 CET (10.30 AM CET) / 9.30 AM BST / 5.30 AM EDT / 1.30 AM PDT / 7.30 PM AEST / 9.30 PM NZDT

Here is the VeloViewer 3D map of the course.

Have you ridden the course before? The easiest way is to check the segment in your Strava account.

Strava Forward Segment

Prize draw from Week #5

As every Monday after weekend’s fit & fun Zwift festival we are randomly choosing one lucky winner for the week’s prize of professional bike fitting worth 200€ by VS Bike + 1h free trial on complete Wahoo Indoor Zwift Setup (Wahoo Kickr + Climb + Wind + Apple 4K TV).

Just to refresh basic rules about eligibility for our weekly prize draw:

1.) every Slovenian rider with a valid stage result on Zwiftpower.com from the current week is eligible. Riders with SLO flag but without real name and surname (for example: some dude, Ave Cezar, Miha 5886, etc..) are excluded.

2.) Organizers and past lucky winners are excluded from the weekly prize draw. There is no point in getting two bike fittings in a row, but they all remain eligible for the main prize (Wahoo Tickr Heart rate monitor) after 9 weeks of league.

And the Week #5 lucky winner is Jurij Rožanec!

Congrats Jurij. For collecting the prize, please contact us at info [@] zwift.si

Stage 5 – Day 1 & 2 live-stream replays

Week 5 is behind us. Harrogate stage was for sure interesting, some said it reminded them of New York, but half easier. Descents are longer and allow the super-tuck position and with that… more recovery.

While we sort out the results, there are some interesting live-stream replays!

In category Igor Kopše live-streamed on Saturday, here’s his replay:


Miha Kosmač live-streamed in category on Sunday and here’s his replay:


Boris Syarov prepared a great recap of his race in category worth watching!


In category Aleš Sušnik live-streamed only on Saturday this week. He pulled a rabbit out of his hat on the final climb to the finish banner and launched a massive sprint immediately at the bottom of the climb. Worth watching!
Here is his replay:


Uroš Huzjak live-streamed category on Sunday, here’s his replay:


Ingo Schörgenhummer live-streamed category here’s his replay:


Also in category Miha Hrovat live-streamed on Saturday, here’s his replay: